Would you be? Could you be? Won’t you be my neighbor?

Several times I day I walk the block between my place and P&H’s, which is also on the way to the subway, so I’ve memorized practically every step along the way. There’s three restaurants, two laundromats, the building with the smelly trash cans, the place I am always sure to see a rat, the brownstone that always has furniture on the sidewalk on trash day, the doll house store, bakery and the passive-aggressive-note-leaver. Though I guess he/she isn’t that passive aggressive…

Oddly enough, there aren’t any windows close to this sign…? Though maybe that red tape is the window they speak of??

I love walking by the Tiny Doll House store, which is exactly as it sounds. They have the tiny version of anything you can think of and it would take hours to see every single object. Strollers, brick walls, sushi, wood planes, violins, jewelry box, kittens playing, Louis Vuitton suitcases, Tiffanys shopping bags, Harry Potter books – it all comes in size A/M for adorably mini.

Right next door is Orwasher’s Bakery, it seems to always be open, and always handing out samples of bread. I think I’ve tried almost everything there, the black and white cookies, the sourdough, the spelt bread, raspberry, apricot, and strawberry cookies,  – the only thing I have yet to taste is the doughnut that is filled with jelly upon ordering.

What’s also nice about this block is that Orwasher’s paints the sidewalk from my doorstep to H&P’s with color chalk drawings, arrows and happy phrases, and I’m always up for a little light reading on my strolls.

Then there is Heidi’s House. The first couple times I walked by it, I thought it was a bar, or a small room you rent out for a party. Turns out it’s a restaurant that is just always full, but I guess its not that hard to fill a place that only sits 20 people. They don’t take reservations, so I had to call right when they opened and put my name on the list. Luckily no one else wanted to eat earlier than us, because there is only 1 table that seats 4.

I don’t know if I was just really hungry, but other than the service that was…unavailable?… the food exceeded my expectations. The bruchetta appetizers used bread from Orwashers with melted fresh mozzarella, perfectly ripe yellow and red tomatoes, onions and a sprinkle of S&P.

We also tried the Dandelion and Burdock. It’s like cream soda, black licorice, root beer – and I guess dandelion. Very strange, but intriguing at the same time.

Peter ordered the 25 minute macaroni and cheese which uses organic gluten free pasta, bacon from properly fed piggies (their words, not mine), chorizo sausage and lobster. It certainly looked good.

Then my meal. Sometime I get a case of “whatever ever someone else ordered, looks better than mine” but this did not turn out that way.  It was a special written on the chalkboard, and I don’t even remember everything that was in it, but it went something like: Squid and shrimp salad with fennel frissee with blood orange. Every bite was citrusy, salty, fresh and mouthwatering. I even ate the legs off the octopus, which I never do.

If there is a lava cake or soufflé of sorts, Peter can’t not order it. I’m glad he has no willpower over gooey chocolate, because this soufflé was really good, probably because of all the organic Belgian dark chocolate.

I only wish there would have been a longer walk home to work off some of that food.

And that’s what happening in my neck of the woods.

xo ZZ

Leave a Reply

