Candle 79

UGHHHHHH. It’s been 11 hours since our dinner last night, and I am still stuffed. I could barely roll my belly out of bed this morning to get to our next enormous meal. But the 5 pounds I probably gained last night were worth it. And the food was organic and vegan so even though I probably stretched my stomach out to the size of a basketball, at least it wasn’t clogging my arteries.

This delicious damage occurred at Candle 79, our favorite vegetarian restaurant in New York, and it’s only a block away from us. It was an all new menu for spring, so obviously we had to order one of each. Or two. Or three.

A little amuse bouche to wet our appetite.

Sprouts and edamame spoonfuls with wasabi-avacodo sauce

Appetizer: Guacamole Timbale. Chipotle black beans, caramelized onions, cucumber-mango salsa, tortilla chips and ranchero sauce. We got a little carried away and dug in before we could take a decent photo.

soo yummmyyy

Salad time. Grilled kale. Haricots verts, beluga lentils, red onions, turnips, avocado, sunflower seeds, spelt berries with chive vinaigrette.

You know you want this.

By this time we were already unbuttoning our pants.. and we hadn’t even had our entrees yet.

My order: Tempeh Vegetable Tamale. Quinoa pilaf, sautéed spinach, pumpkin seeds, chocolate mole sauce, guacamole, sour cream, mango salsa.

Heidi’s dish: Moroccan spiced chickpea cake. Seasonal vegetables, red pepper-coconut curry, date-apricot-ginger chutney and toasted almonds.

Hilarie’s choice: Caribbean Jerk-Grilled Seitan. Basmati rice, collard greens and caramelized onions, plantains, habanero-black beans sauce, with papaya salsa.

We also ate Live Tomatoe-Zucchini Lasagna. Cashew cheese, marinated wild mushrooms, tomato sauce, basil-pine nut pesto. “Live” as in not cooked over 125 degrees.

The grilled seitan piccata was also freaking awesome. Like eating a piece of grilled fish… if you had to cut fish with a steak knife. Still super delicious.

The winner of the best order was Peter’s Spagetti and Wheatballs. You heard me. It was served with truffled tomato sauce, roasted garlic, spinach, and cashew parmesan. I don’t even like real meatballs, so the thought of “wheat” balls sounded disgusting and dull. It was not. Maybe it was so good because it was the smallest portion, and we all knew we could only have a teeny bite. Food envy always effects my taste buds.

Now we’re sitting at the table with no pants on. Groaning and moaning at how full we all are. Yet we still ordered desserts.

First up, Mexican Chocolate Brownie served with bananas, french vanilla ice cream, candied pecans, chocolate ancho sauce.

The winner of the whole night, I could eat this every time I go – The Live Berry Crumble with berries, almonds, coconut ginger ice cream and strawberry sauce. It was sweet, tart, crunchy, buttery, ahhhhh it was so good. I think I passed out from a food coma as I took this picture, so that’s why it’s blurry.

After dinner we worked off our meal by crawling our food-baby filled bodies to Times Square and playing in the stores.

In other news, I have so many things to write about. 11 different posts to be exact, but there just isn’t enough time, or will power in the day. So as soon as I go back to being friendless and unemployed, the blog should be up and running at full speed. Sneak peek: We made Peter’s dream come true at Grand Central… but more on that tomorrow.

 

I bet you’ve been missing this fat lard too, huh? As soon as she starts talking to me (I’ve been deserting her at home for hours and hours with her mortal enemy) she’ll probably write something soon. I have a feeling the claws will come out. Literally.

This is what I do all day. Stare at this nasty-a#@ water dripping into the shower that mom refuses to clean the rust out of. What a b#$&*. She could at least leave me some treats or toys to play with, other than that waste of good fur, Scout. I wonder if I sit on that hole I could drown myself. Better yet... where is that cat...

XO ZZ

Leave a Reply

