And I’m off!…sort of…

After saying Adios to la familia I spent one last night in a beautiful suite overlooking the mountains, staring at the waterfall, Costa Rica friend and I had one last real meal on Wendy (thanks mom!), and I fell asleep watching Dream Girls in a very comfortable bed.

The next morning started out of sort of rough. The plan was to have breakfast at 6, leave at 8, get on the 10am bus. I didn’t get my pancakes until 7, I couldn’t figure out what to leave behind until 8:30, and then the call came about the taxi strike. The government was granting too many permits to “chauffuers” taking away the taxi’s business. So they all piled onto the highway, greatly slowing things down. What’s normally a 30-40 minute drive took us an hour and half. I wasn’t stressin’ at all though, unlike the driver who apparently does not like traffic.

By the time we got to the bus station, I had missed the bus, but there was another one leaving at 12. I got a ticket, met an girl from London (small world: she had just come from New York and had been living a few blocks away for 3 months) who was also going to Puerto Viejo to meet friends, so we stuck together. We chatted while waiting to leave, and met 3 Australian girls who will be traveling until September. Then they kept delaying our departure time. 1 hour. 2 hours. 3 hours. we may not even leave tonight?! I even had a story read to me by a crazy woman while holding beer bongs to my ears.

Finally at 4PM, 5 hours later, I was on a bus. It’s a 4 1/2 hour trip, and then we got stuck behind an accident or something, so it turned into a 6 hour trip. But lucky me, the woman sitting behind me was the manager of the hostel I had booked so I knew exactly where to go.

Here’s where the real fun starts. The place has no walls. Imagine the Weasley’s house, but wide open.  The stairs were steep, my bed looked right out into the jungle, and the water was from the well, (aka they told me not to drink it). All night long something was chewing on the ceiling dropping things onto my face, mosquitos were biting me, and I was sharing the room with an old man in his tighty whitys. It’s not that I can’t rough it, or that I’m a snob…who am I kidding, I am a complete snob that wants a luxury hotel, with drinkable water, kittens to snuggle with, and room service. Is that too much to ask for?? But really… in this situation, all I wanted was walls!!

I barely slept, I was thirsty and “TightyWhityMan” was farting and saying “Veronica, Lindsay, Michelle” in his sleep. All I kept thinking was, I bet that’s who he’s murdered.

Don’t fret, I’ve since moved hotels, bought a ginormous thing of water, my first day at the Rescue Center was great, I’m making lots of friends.

7 thoughts on “And I’m off!…sort of…

  1. hahahahahaha I’m shocked Zoey! Shocked you are totally not stressing and on the next flight home! Good job, you are going to have so much fun and I can’t wait to hear more!

  2. Pingback: Post-Puerto Viejo Slump « New York Whimsy

  3. Pingback: Ciao! Puerto Viejo | New York Whimsy

  4. Pingback: Sloth! | New York Whimsy

  5. Pingback: The one where I lose a sloth | New York Whimsy

Leave a Reply

