Channeling my inner Carrie

There is an entire episode of Sex and the City where Carrie is single, skipping around the city, and going to places alone. So the past couple of days I’ve been putting on pretty outfits, grabbing Belle by her pink leash and sprinkles donut, and exploring the city.

                            “If Louis was right, and you only get one great love, New York

                            may just be mine. And I can’t have nobody talking shit about my

                            boyfriend” Carrie Bradshaw

I played a lot of fetch with Belle in Central Park. Also spent a lot of time being mesmerized by this bubble guy.

I went to M&J Trimmings to check out their miles of ribbons, Swarovski rhinestones and oodles of buttons. Check out how cute these buttons are! As soon as I turn 72 and find it acceptable to don cat buttons on my sweater vest, I’m buying these puppies (or kitties to be exact).

This is just a tiny section of the buttons they had.

Then I had a 2 hour work out sesh with this statuesque man, Courtney. He’s invented his own thing, a mixture of pilates, yoga, ballet and toning exercises using just a ball, mat, bar and the city around him. Compared to the last personal training session I had where the guy talked the ENTIRE time, and Hilarie and I literally had to start doing squats on our own to get him to shut up, this was completely different.  He showed me exercises to work muscle I didn’t even know I had. I was having such a good time learning all these new tricks I didn’t even realize it had been 2 hours. Courtney is encouraging, smart, and constantly correcting your posture and positions, which is perfect for me because I’m self-concious when working out, and ALWAYS have my shoulders up. Also, having a view of Bethesda Fountain with a saxophone player doing ‘What a Wonderful World’ really helps keep you going.

This isn’t me… though I wish I had those arms.

The next morning I felt like I’d been hit by a bus. A huge bus full of happy bricks. It burns so good.

For dinner that night, with Belle as my date, we went down the block to The Barking Dog Cafe. I had a delicious salad with jumbo shrimp and lemon-dill dressing. I couldn’t be all healthy, so I ordered the spicy curly fries. The place is definitely overpriced, but has a great menu selection and I love that everyone sitting outside has their dog. Belle made lots of new friends (By that I mean she sniffed everyone and then barked meanly).

The next day I hit up the matinee show of Potted Potter. It’s not what you’d think, it’s not the stoner version of Harry Potter – though that sounds like a good time. It’s all seven books in 70 minutes. The whole thing done by just two guys. One playing Harry, the other playing every single other character. The beginning started off a little cheesy for me, but the kids in the audience were loving it, by the second half it got better. It’s part sketch comedy, part satire, part making fun of JK Rowling. Even Doby, Nagini and the Dementors make an appearance, in the form of puppets, stuffed animals, and a cheap skeleton halloween mask. There were lots of inside jokes for true Harry Potter fans and even an audience participation game of Quiddich that involved a globe blow- up ball being thrown into the audience. At which point the snitch comes out and the seekers take it down.

That would be the Golden Snitch on the right.

The whole thing ends (SPOILER ALERT) with a sing-off by Harry and Lord Voldemort singing an edited version of ‘I Will Survive’.  I won’t ruin the whole thing for you though, I’ll just tell you “and either must die at the hand of the other for neither can live while the other survives.”

That’s what I’ve been up to this week, I’ve got a few more days to spend with Belle, so I’ll probably put on my best tutu and head to the park again.

 

xo ZZ

Leave a Reply

