Real Fear

I have this weird thing about people touching my neck. I don’t know where it came from, probably from brother or one of his friends beating me up as a kid. I really have no idea where/when it started. But basically, I do not want you to touch my neck. That includes getting a facial, wearing the heavy xray bib at the dentist, wearing turtlenecks, and even pillows don’t touch my neck when I sleep. Maybe I have especially thin skin there or something, the slightest touch to the front makes me feel like I’m being suffocated.

During fashion week, I was freaking out while a friend took this picture instead of saving me.

I try not to tell people about this strange fear, unless of course they are reaching for something within a five-foot vicinity of my neck, at which point I spastically freak out and put my hands up to protect myself. If people know, they tend to fake touch it when they think I’m not paying attention, but it always leads to my arms flailing and someone getting hurt.

People also like to sit behind me in the car and wrap their hands around my neck. Because I always wear my seatbelt, I am basically trapped in the straps trying to get away. This can be dangerous for the driver because the rest of the car ride because I am now leaning forward, blocking their view to the side-view mirrors, or again flailing my arms and accidentally hitting windshield wipers, turn signals, or grabbing the emergency brake. I have absolutely no control over myself if you go towards my neck.

My friends are so hilarious. (That was drooling in sarcasm).

I know that it’s crazy, but I can’t help it.

So you can imagine my surprise when I asked this guy at a haunted house to take a picture with me and he wrapped his hands around my neck and squeezed tightly!!!!

I screamed ‘OMG, I HAVE A THING ABOUT MY NECK, YOU CAN’T TOUCH IT!!!!”

He whispered in my ear “That’s real fear.”

And this is where I’m trying to smile so that we can get this damn picture over with!

2 thoughts on “Real Fear

  1. I love the before and after pic of the haunted house guy lol! What’s funny is my sister has a fear similar to this…except it involves her throat. She refuses to wear turtlenecks, chokers, or even necklaces even remotely close to her throat/neck area. Even if her shirt collar is close to her it will cut off. Maybe there is some kind of support group out there 😉

Leave a Reply

