My Quest for New York’s Best Pizza

I’d like to thank Donald Trump for our hunt of the best pizza place in New York. That’s really how this all began. When Sarah Palin visited New York, Trump took her to a “real NY” pizza place, Famiglia in Times Square. They then ate their chain-restaurant pizza with fork and knife.  Jon Stewart caught wind of this and went on a rant about how idiotic that chose was, and proceeded to give his list of best pizza places, (which brother feverishly took note of).

So far, we’ve only been to a few of them. Lombardi’s (American’s first pizzeria) has by far the best pizza. The menu is very limited, they are basically saying, “we know what we’re doing, we’re not going to let you mess this up with toppings, substitutions, frills, etc.” It’s always packed, so it’s best to get there early.

Lombardi’s

John’s Pizzeria is also pretty good. They have a HUGE menu, and the restaurant is HUGE, so there isn’t as long of a wait. They use a 75 year old oven with no thermometer to regulate temperatures, so it takes a skilled eye to make it right, and every pie comes out differently. Though the pizza isn’t #1 on my list, if this was a World’s Best Garlic Rolls contest, they would win hands down.

Look at these! Such good garlic rolls from John’s.

The other places on his list that I’ve yet to get to are: GrimaldisTotonnosArturos.

Number 1 on my list of unique pizza is Roberta’s Bee Sting. I’ve mentioned it several times before, holybananashananegans, it’s the perfect combination of salty, sweet and spicy. I really should try something else there, but it’s just so good I can’t resist it.

Bee Sting – mozzarella, peper flakes and honey

Last week my world was completely flipped upside down when I found a different list of America’s Best Pizzas, and it didn’t match Jon Stewart’s at all?! So is this unknown pizza better or worse?? I had to get to the bottom of this immediately.

First up, we tried Motorino. It’s a tiny restaurant, with maybe 10 tables in East Village. We ordered the baby brussel sprouts with caramelized onions, garlic, honey and pecorino. Yum. We also tried the octopus salad with fingerling potatoes, red onion, celery, capers and chili oil. Also yum yum.

Octopus salad

Baby brussel sprouts

Then came the pizza. Maybe it was because I was starving… but this pizza is giving all the other ones a run for their money. I can’t think of any more words to say how delicious, yummy and freakin’ awesome pizza is… so, just take the drool on my shirt as proof, head over to Motorino’s.

Now I just have to try Di Fara, Co., and Joe’s, before I can officially name my own America’s Best Pizza.

If you’re mouth isn’t watering yet, check out this list.

Thanks Donald.

xo ZZ

4 thoughts on “My Quest for New York’s Best Pizza

Leave a Reply

