ZOprah’s Favorite Things – Gift Ideas for the Women in Your Life + Giveaway

In my 5 year plan to become Oprah, I’ve decided to share my own “Favorite Things” with you this year. Gift-giving is a hard skill to learn, some people are naturally blessed with the talent, they quietly listen to you while window shopping and when you point out something and say, ‘oh, that’s so cute’ they secretly write it down.  Months later, when they give it to you, it wasn’t even something you remembered you wanted, which makes it an even better present. Then there are the not-so-fabulous shoppers who seem to randomly walk into a store and grab the first thing they see, which leaves you with a set of camping dish wear – when you hate the outdoors.

Now, if you’re thinking, “great, I’ll get this for my favorite blogger” – don’t*. I have already sent a Christmas Grinch list to my family.

Christmas ListUse this list to find something for your wife, girlfriend, or favorite gal pal. Here we go:

For the friend who wants to have a garden, but kills even the indestructible English ivy. I’ve seen a ton of these indoor, easy to grow kits lately, but chose these growbottles from Potting Shed Creations for the recycled wine bottle they come in. Available in five herbs: chives, basil, mint, parsley and oregano, $35 for the starter kit and $8 for replanting kit.

Garden

The gift that keeps on giving, this one reminds your friend of you once-a-month for however long you choose. So many options for this, there is wine, makeup, dog-lovers, jewelry maker, cheese, and food lovers -of the month club. But the one that caught my eye was from UmbaBox. Each box comes filled with handmade, unique items. It could be a chic clutch, bath products, or stationary, for $23+/month, or get the 3-month holiday addition for $49/month.

UmbaBox

For the one who’s always hosting, I love these cheese platters. Two things happen when I see a cheese platter: I ask what kind of cheese it is and then I fail trying to use that stupid slicer thing, and drop it on the floor. If only these trays could combine their skills, we’d have the SCB (super cheese board, duh). Magnetic for $20 at WayFair, and Slate for $29 at uncommongoods.

Magnetic Cheese BoardChalk Cheese Tray

This is more a stocking stuffer, or a co-worker gift. Whoever invented it is genius, but why did it take so long? I have used pens, slivers of paper, and toothpicks to try to get an even dot, and this one comes with brush and ‘micro nib’ attached. A single nail pen will set you back $10, plus another $10 for the polish. For $15 you get the two in one, at Spoon Sister. 

223772675206666037_oLTnZeTo_c

Unless you live in Florida, you can never go wrong with a beautiful pair of gloves. Go whimsical with these taxi ($68) or fingerless/mittens ($78) from Kate Spade, or practical with Echo Touch’s ($35), so you never have to take off your gloves to answer a call.

PSRU0899_701img-thing365035_1

My favorite chocolate store in the world is Vosges Haut-Chocolat. It started with the first bite of Barcelona, add the day-old truffles they always give me for free, all inside their beautiful stores and you’ve got a winner. With Vosges, you’re not giving boring chocolates (Godiva is so last year), these are innovative bites of pure joy. My favorite is the Organic Peanut Butter BonBon Bar and the Sunshine Caramel Bar (tupelo honey + milk chocolate + bee pollen). Make sure you follow the directions on the back for maximum eating pleasure.

chocSunshine

Last but not least, the product that changed my life. Thairapy 365’s Digital Curling Iron. The only tool that has ever made my straight hair curled for more than an hour. I love it so much, I even wrote a poem for it. In fact, I love all of Thairapy’s products, like their blowdryer and flat-iron. Apparently, it’s the world’s fastest flat-iron. But I’ll let you be the judge of that, I’m giving one away!

digitalxctmpNEdfcJ

Leave a comment below about what’s on your own ‘Favorite Things’ list. Giveaway ends 12pm Wednesday, December 18, so you’ll have it in time for the holidays.

*Again, just so we’re clear, diamonds are always accepted.

xo ZZ

14 thoughts on “ZOprah’s Favorite Things – Gift Ideas for the Women in Your Life + Giveaway

  1. I have to say I only briefly read everything the first time around because I was looking for your thairapy curling iron. Over thanksgiving I tried using my make-shift one where I unscrewed the clamp off a cheap regular curlin iron, it still didn’t work. Though my hair is strait, i am sure it would give my ends a sleek polished look in quick enough time for me to fit into my low maintenance schedule. 🙂

  2. I love services. Program and /or fix my computer, telephone. front yard, do my Xmas lights. Give everyone else massages and facials or pedicures. NO WRAPPING REQUIRED
    from a Grandma

  3. I’m on Mountain time, do I still have time to enter the giveaway???

    I’m currently loving these Manpacks for the man in your life: http://www.manpacks.com/

    Also, I think wine makes a great gift. Even better, wine and bacon! http://theinfinitemonkeytheorem.com/portfolio/bottles-bacon-gift-package/

    I’m the weird one, though, who asks for boring things for Christmas, like pillows and sheets. http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=130425

    Love your guide, Zoey!

    • Sure do, doesn’t end till the 19th. I’ve never heard of Manpacks, that would make a great gift for a friend in college who is always in need of a fresh pair of undies and clean socks.

  4. Went traditional this year(and on trend) and asked for tacky sweaters from mum like she used to make, for me and my 3 siblings. Cold weather is enough to make you really enjoy anything warm and lord knows that my toes would have fallen off if it weren’t for the miracles that are hunter wellie socks.

  5. On my favorite things list: Music…whether in the form of concert tickets, iTunes gift cards, or even old school CDs.

    I would also love to get a nice new flat iron. 🙂

    Miss you Zoe!!

  6. My favorite things list….hmm, should I be generous and start with family or give you the real list? lol kidding (sort of)

    1. I love the UGG Ravenna boot, so comfortable and not frumpy
    2. Several necklaces from my JewelMint Collection
    3. Hudson jeans, any pair, any color, any style

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

