Pump up the Trends! – Episode 5: POUND.

Finally! A class I can do. I fell off the board in SurfSet, almost fainted in Hot Yoga, and just barely managed to get upside down in Aerial Yoga. But give me a set of drumsticks and tell me to beat the floor with them – while Linkin Park is blaring – is so perfectly me.

POUND. Rockout. Workout. Started by two female drummers who loved the exhilaration of playing, wanted to combine that rush into their workouts. They invented a lightly weighted drumstick, Ripstix, made a playlist Eddie Van Halen would approve of, and created a workout that is a combination of Pilates, plyometrics, and isometric movements.

Hilarie and I headed to Crunch to check it out. (Let me sidetrack for a moment, Crunch has free cold, lemon water, so bonus points for them). We got our Ripstix, a rubber mat, and the chilling, soft beats of Ellie Goulding’s ‘Lights’ begins. We start off in slow squats, hitting the floor in unison. By the time the chorus hits, we’re going twice as fast, hitting the sticks to the side, in front and above us.

photo-1

The rest of the class was a drumming blur, keeping to the beat of Rihanna, Nicki Minaj, Rage Against the Machine and Travis Barker, and trying to keep up with our instructor, Zuta. By the end of the 30 minutes my butt, legs, and abs were so sore I could barely walk down the stairs.

But I sure felt like I could KICK SOME ASS.

photoxo ZZ

2 thoughts on “Pump up the Trends! – Episode 5: POUND.

Leave a Reply

