The Perfect New York City Weekend

This is going to be a long one folks, so grab a chair, get comfortable and settle in. I’ve only written 3 posts this year, compared to last years’ almost everyday. I’ve been in kind of a slump. I blame the winter, and the fact that I am not in Florida sunbathing in January. But I’ve gotten the right concoction of magical potions to pull me out of the hole, just in time for a fabulous NYC weekend.

It started on Thursday night when the best friend came into town and we headed straight to a secret speakeasy. Is ‘secret speakeasy’ redundant? And repetitive? It’s repetitive and redundant. The place is called PDT (Please Don’t Tell) and you enter into a dive-like hot dog shack, where they serve dogs with a plethora of toppings, and have arcade games to entertain you.

photo copy

photo

You access the bar through the phone booth with the fake wall. Once inside, you’re lead to a leather booth where you can just see the taxidermied animals under the dim lighting. A mixologist had created a menu of drinks (all $15) to please any palate. The Peanut Butter Cup, inspired by Ants on a Log, has Bulleit Bourban, Lustau Pedro Ximenez, celery juice and peanut butter syrup. I tried ‘The Paddington’ – Flor de Cana Silver Dry Rum, Lillet Blanc wine, lemon and grapefruit juice, Bonne Maman Orange Marmalade, and St. George Absinthe – it was delicious.  I couldn’t leave without trying a dog, so I ordered the veggie dog with tomatoes, onions, jalepenos and a special sauce. I don’t normally like hot dogs, but this was pretty damn good… maybe it was absinthe.

photo

The next night I took the visitors to John’s Pizzeria before heading to see Annie, which was adorable and not as annoying as I assumed it would be. They even have a real dog, who for some moments, steals the show from the curly red head. There was also REAL snow that night which made the evening even better. We spent the rest of the night in the Marriott bar, having drinks and girl talk with Paris’ friends from assorted places.

photo

photo

Saturday, I took the bestie to my favorite lunch spot, then we walked arm-in-arm through Soho until we were so cold we had to go home and snuggle while watching reruns of ‘Girls’. That night a friend of Paris’ invited us to attend a charity event, Garden of Laughs, at Madison Square Garden. We spent the evening laughing to Adam Ferrara, Darrell Hammond, Robert Klein (who got the entire audience to sing about having a colonoscopy), Brian Regan, Ray Romano, and Wanda Sykes. The presenters weren’t bad either – Ben Stiller, the Beastie Boys, and Bob Costas all graced us with their presence.

IMG_2708

I said goodbye to my visitors early, I had an appointment with a mountain at 5:30AM on Sunday. Peter, Hilarie, Dan and I hopped on a bus to the Catskills. Though I’m not by any means a ‘skier’, I did enormously better than my previous attempt, again thanks to those lotions and potions. I started off on the practice slope, and of course fell getting off the ski lift. I now have a giant bruise on my hip. But after that Hilarie and I successfully went down the beginner slopes several times until we were no longer falling and even getting a little speed. I might even try the blue slopes next time.

IMG_4240

IMG_4459

IMG_4260

IMG_4480

IMG_4450

IMG_4444

It was a wonderful weekend, full of good food, new friends, lots of laughs, and  fluffy snow – the only cold weather I approve of.

xo ZZ

Leave a Reply

